• Friendly


  • Busy


  • Happy


  • Well fed

    Well fed

  • Caring


  • Creative



We’re keen for our parents and carers to know what goes on in the children’s day and to work closely with us, using the same routines and guidelines, to develop happy and confident young children.

We have a minimum staff to child ratio of 1:3 in the baby rooms, 1:4 for the toddlers and 1:8 in the preschools and, as we overstaff, there are usually lots of other adults around to help too.

Together with all nurseries, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework to focus on the needs of children from birth to 5 years old. Play is a crucial element, it also outlines the legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare. You can find out about:

• The 7 areas of learning and development which guide us to plan your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
• Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
• Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals’ (ELGs).

The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and will use their observations of your child to develop activities that take into account his/her child’s particular interests.

The EYFS framework sets out the characteristics of effective learning to help the child become an effective and motivated learner. These characteristics are:

    Playing and Exploring — Engagement
    Finding out about and exploring, playing with what they know, being willing to ‘have a go’

      Active Learning — Motivation
      Being involved and concentrating, keeping trying, enjoying achieving what they set out to do

        Creating and Thinking Critically — Thinking
        Having their own ideas, making links, choosing ways to do things.

        Your child will be learning new skills, acquiring knowledge and showing their understanding through the 7 areas of learning. Children mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

          Communication and Language
          For speaking, listening and attention skills

            Physical Development
            For fine and gross motor skills, self-care skills and how to be healthy

              Personal, Social and Emotional Development
              For self confidence and self awareness, how to make relationships and how to manage feelings and behaviour.

              These prime areas are the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

              And as children grow will help them develop skills in a further 4 areas.

              These are:


              Where children develop early reading and writing skills

              Where children learn about numbers, shapes, measures and early problem solving skills

              Understanding the World
              Where children learn about the world around them and technology

              Expressive Arts and Design
              Where children use a variety of media, instruments and imaginative play to express their imagination and creativity.